Monday - Saturday: 9:30 - 5:00, Sunday 12:00 - 4:00

Early Reader's Recommendations

Isadora Moon Goes To School, Harriet Muncaster

Half vampire, half fairy, totally unique! Isadora Moon is special because she is different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and Isadora is a bit of both. She loves the night, bats, and the colour black, but she also loves the outdoors, using her magic wand, and the colour pink.

When it's time for Isadora to start school she's not sure where she belongs - vampire school or fairy school? With irresistible pink and black artwork throughout by author/illustrator Harriet Muncaster and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny new series of first chapter books. Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O'Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

 

Kate on the Case, Hannah Peck

Perfect for those just beginning reading out-with school, a great first chapter book to get their teeth into!

Discover the first brilliant adventure of reporter-in-training KATE and her mouse RUPERT, in this stunning book, filled with colourful illustrations.

Armadillo Young reporter-in-training Kate and her mouse-accomplice Rupert are on board a train to visit Kate's mum in the Arctic. But as soon as the train departs, mysterious things start happening.

A packet of ginger nuts goes missing . . .

A collection of gymnastics trophies are stolen . . .

And some ancient scrolls disappear . . .

Fellow passenger Madame Maude seems the most likely culprit, until a surprising - and delicious - twist turns the whole investigation on its head. Look out for KATE's next adventure THE CALL OF THE SILVER WIBBLER - coming soon!

 

The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day,  Christopher Edge 

How do you know you really exist? It's Maisie's birthday and she can't wait to open her presents. She's hoping for the things she needs to build her own nuclear reactor. But she wakes to an empty house and outside the front door is nothing but a terrifying, all-consuming blackness.

Trapped in an ever-shifting reality, Maisie knows that she will have to use the laws of the universe and the love of her family to survive. And even that might not be enough... A mind-bending mystery for anyone who's ever asked questions.

 

Wigglesbottom Primary: Dino Chick, Pamela Butchart

 

Perfect for Easter reading, these are more funny school stories from award-winning Pamela Butchart, brilliantly colour-illustrated by Becka Moor.The strangest things happen at Wigglesbottom Primary!

When Year Two is chosen to look after some eggs that are about to hatch, they KNOW somthing is strange about one of them. What if it's not a chick egg, but a DINOSAUR EGG???

 

The Secret Explorers and the Plant Poachers, SJ King

Grab your backpack and let's head into the wild with the Secret Explorers! Embark on an unforgettable journey of discovering forest life and protecting an endangered plant! Learn all about the amazing Venus flytrap in this action-packed, conservation-themed instalment of DK's new educational fiction series. Meet the Secret Explorers - a band of brainiac kids from all around the world. Everyone in this diverse group of young experts has a speciality, from dinosaurs to volcanoes.

Each story follows a character who gets chosen for a "secret exploration". This edge-of-your-seat educational fiction book for children is packed with:- Fun facts and illustrations about exciting plant species- Simple and informative diagrams show kids all they need to know about the Venus fly trap- Quizzes, mission notes, and a glossary of words with definitions. In this fascinating children's nature book, we join biology expert Leah on a mission to a forest in North Carolina, USA. Joined by history buff Gustavo, the team must work together with a botanist to protect the endangered Venus flytrap from being stolen by poachers and sold for money.

Packed with lots of information about different forest plants, this adventure book gives children a thrilling introduction to the natural world. Don't miss out on more secret explorations! Embark on an Arctic adventure of epic proportions in The Secret Explorers and the Missing Scientist. Discover the dramatic power of an erupting volcano in The Secret Explorers and the Smoking Volcano.

 

Kitty Quest, Phil Corbett

This is the perfect new read for fans of Captain Underpants, Dog Man and The Simpsons! Woolfrik and Perigold are two down-on-their-luck cats in need of some extra cash, so they've decided to become professional monster slayers - except they don't know the first thing about it! So when a huge beast starts rampaging through the town, they are put to the ultimate test. But the monster is just the beginning of their worries, because someone even more troublesome is pulling its strings.

So even though they've never been in a battle - or even gone on a real quest before - it's up to these cats to save the day and prove they've got what it takes to be heroes. 'Fun, fast-paced and hilarious. Kitty Quest is a must-read - especially if you love a good cat-pun!' - Laura Ellen Anderson, author of Amelia Fang Matt Braly, creator of Disney's Amphibia, proclaims Kitty Quest is 'an absolutely charming story that had me chuckling the whole way through.