Monday - Saturday: 9:30 - 5:00, Sunday 12:00 - 4:00

Pre-Order for 1st August: Exclusive independent bookshop edition of Rare Singles, Benjamin Myers

Pre-Order for 1st August: Exclusive independent bookshop edition of Rare Singles, Benjamin Myers

Regular price
£18.99
Sale price
£18.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

RARE SINGLES, BENJAMIN MYERS

PRE-ORDER now for a SIGNED INDIE EXCLUSIVE copy (available 1st August)

RARE SINGLES is the latest novel by one of our favourite writers, Benjamin Myers - author of The Gallows Pole, The Perfect Golden Circle and more! 

A warm, tender and funny story about unlikely friendships, second chances, and the magic of soul music - perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe

Dinah has always lived in Scarborough. Trapped with her feckless husband and useless son, her one release comes at her town's Northern Soul nights, where she gets to put on her best and lose herself in the classics. Dinah has an especial hero: Bucky Bronco, who recorded a string of soul gems in the late Sixties and then vanished off the face of the earth.

When she manages to contact Bucky she can't believe her luck. Over in Chicago, Bucky Bronco is down on his luck, and has been since the loss of his beloved wife Maybelle. The best he can hope for is to make ends meet, and try and stay high.

But then an unexpected invitation arrives, from someone he's never met, to come to somewhere he's never heard of. With nothing to lose, and in need of the cash, Bucky boards a plane. And so Bucky finds himself in rainy Scarborough...