Books Of The Month

Category
< Back to all posts
  • June 2018

    ADULTS

    Crudo, Olivia Laing

    ISBN: 9781509892839

    The first novel from Olivia Laing, who has been writing interesting books for years now, including To The River and The Lonely City. Beginning in in a roasting Tuscan summer, we meet Kathy – a writer, a bride-to-be and someone who is feeling as unstable as the world around her seems to be. Trump’s tweets, Brexit and a sense of her own ageing all combine to give a funny, raw and powerful novel.

    He Is Mine and I Have No Other, Rebecca O’Connor

    ISBN: 9781786892591

    He Is Mine and I Have No Other is a first novel which for me signals the arrival of a strong new voice in Irish novels. Rebecca O’Connor is known for poetry and short stories and this atmospheric story of an intense young love affair, set in small town Ireland should cement her reputation as a writer. Ideal for fans of Donal Ryan and Edna O’Brien.

    The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, Arundhati Roy

    ISBN: 9780241980767

    Since winning the Booker for the memorable God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy has been an activist in her homeland of India on many causes. Incredibly, this is only her second novel and she weaves many of the themes she campaigns about into this sprawling tale, set in Dehli and the forests of Kashmir.

    Swan Song, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

    ISBN: 9781786331052

    Truman Capote spent decades cultivating deep friendships with high society ladies – his swans - holidaying with them, lunching with them and sharing their deepest secrets. Then, in 1975, he destroyed both his and their reputations by writing an explosive book that revealed everything. Why he did it is explored in this delicious novel, sure to satisfy all your salacious gossip needs for the year!

    Warlight, Michael Ondaatje

    ISBN: 9781787330719

    A welcome return from one of my favourite authors, Warlight is set in London in the immediate aftermath of the Second World War. Nathaniel and Rachel are left in the care of the mysterious Moth as their parents go to Singapore for work. But when The Moth’s unsavoury friends start appearing at the house and the children find their parent’s carefully packed suitcases in the basement, they realise nothing is as it seems. A masterpiece.

     

    CHILDREN

    The Day War Came, Nicola Davies

    ISBN: 9781406376326

    A powerful picture book from writer Nicola Davies and illustrator Rebecca Cobb about a girl forced to become a refugee when conflict arrives at her front door. A timely subject and told in a way that even very young children will understand, I wish this book weren’t necessary in 2018, but sadly it is.

    Holes: Discover a Hidden World, Thomas Hegbrook

    ISBN: 9781848576346

    This book looks at both the natural and manmade world form a very different perspective: holes! Whether it’s a burrow, a sinkhole, a subway, or even a magic portal, this beautifully produced reference book is fascinating.

    Mr Snail’s Counting Trails, Stuart Lynch

    ISBN 9781786929204

    This is a brilliantly designed board book with trails for little fingers to follow as they learn to count. Filled with bold and bright illustrations, Mr Snail’s Counting Trails is a brilliant first numbers book.

    Tropical Terry, Jarvis

    ISBN: 9781406378627

    A brand new tale from the author Alan’s Big Scary Teeth and many other quirky tales. Terry lives on a tropical reef, but he feels dull and drab compared to the other brightly coloured marine life. With their help, he makes himself a shiny new suit, but is it worth it to hide who he really is? A picture book with a good message about self-esteem and filled with Jarvis’ distinctive illustrations.

    The Twitches Bake a Cake, Hayley Scott

    ISBN: 9781474928137

    The second in the delightful Teacup House series, Stevie’s mum has baked a delicious looking birthday cake, so Silver and Fig set off to taste it! These are unbelievably cute stories, ideal for early readers and beautifully presented with illustrations, good sized font and nice short chapters.